2018 NZSBK Championship Race Venues

Round One

Mike Pero Motorsport Park

Christchurch - 6-7 January 2018

Formed in 1959, The Christchurch Speedway Association is the second oldest Speedway club in New Zealand (behind Kihikihi). Ruapuna speedway opened in April 1962, and was known as Templeton Speedway until 1977 when it became known as Ruapuna Park Speedway.

In recent years it has been shortened to Ruapuna Speedway. It is the South Islands only true International speedway, featuring overseas drivers in several classes each summer.

Round Two

Levels International Raceway

Timaru - 13-14 January 2018

Before Timaru International Motor Raceway, there was The South Canterbury Car Club Inc, formed in 1947 and running hill climbs and paddock events at the time. The club progressed from this to running the Waimate 50 Street Race until 1966. In 1967, a street event was run in Timaru in the Craigie Avenue area. Land was then purchased at Falvey Road and a permanent 1.6 km circuit built. The first event there was held in November that year. The club continued to develop the venue, running club and national championship racing.

In 1988 the circuit length was increased and developed to the international FIA category 3 standard that it is today, allowing the South Canterbury Car Club to run international events as well as national championships including the NZ V8 Touring Cars, Super Truck Racing and the New Zealand Superbike Championship. 

Round Three

Hampton Downs Motorsport Park

Waikato - 3-4 March 2018

New Zealand’s most modern motorsport complex started as an ambitious privately funded enterprise and after years of hard work and paperwork, the construction began in February 2007. The completion date was planned for late 2008 but a particularly wet 2007 winter pushed the opening out to October 2009.

The vision was for the park to become a major venue for local motorsport, with a modern approach taken during the design process by Clive Bowen of Apex Circuit Design. It would be the most up-to-date facility in the country, offering an entertainment venue for the promotion of motor racing in New Zealand.

It boasts three different track configurations along with two skidpans areas, one for driver training, the other for drifting, as well as an SUV course and go-kart track.

To complement the on-track facilities, the 450ha development also includes an industrial park, motor lodge, lifestyle blocks, 80 trackside apartments and convention centre.

Round Four

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

Taupo - 17-18 March 2018

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park has four race track configurations consisting of 1.3km, 2.2km and 3.5km.

There are two separate pit/paddock areas and two separate start/finish locations, allowing for simultaneous use of two tracks (National and Club).

The motor racing circuit has various licences depending on which track configuration is being used, ranging from FIA Grade 2 Motorsport License and International Motorcycling Safety Standards to National Grade 1 and Grade 2 Motorsport License.

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park features a three-storey pit lane complex featuring 32 pit garages, 8 first floor corporate suites and a race control, corporate and catering complex.

The full circuit has permanent spectator capacity of 25,000 to 30,000 general admission with on-site parking for up to 4,000 cars.