The New Zealand Superbike Championship is the pinnacle of motorcycle racing in New Zealand.

It has been the stepping stone to the international stage for NZ road racing talent since its inception. The championship has been developed not only to showcase the premier Superbike class, but also to boost a number of tiered development classes that offer the perfect feeder programme for young talent.

Contested annually at premier sealed race circuits around the country, the action at each round is spread over two days. Saturday mornings kick off with practice and qualifiers, followed by the first round of races in the afternoon. Sunday sees a further two races for each class.

Two illustrious road racing titles are also fought for annually within the NZSBK Championship series:

  • NZGP – the New Zealand Motorcycle Grand Prix is contested annually in the last group of races at Mike Pero Motorsport Park, Ruapuna – next up on Sunday 7 January 2018.
  • NZTT – the New Zealand Tourist Trophy is contested in the last group of races at Hampton Downs each year – catch it live on Sunday 4 March.

The 2018 NZSBK Championship comprises four rounds:

  • ROUND 1:  6-7 January 2018, Mike Pero Motorsport Park, Christchurch. Read more
  • ROUND 2:  13-14 January 2018, Levels International Raceway, Timaru. Read more
  • ROUND 3:  3-4 March 2018, Hampton Downs Motorsport Park, Waikato. Read more
  • ROUND 4:  17-18 March 2018, Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo. Read more

Check out photos from the 2017 NZSBK Championship